Marion Raw Shares “Run With The Sea” Via Under The Radar, ‘Deep Cuts’ LP Out April 9th

by Levi
Marion Raw Shares “Run With The Sea” Via Under The Radar

Deep Cuts LP Out April 9th

LISTEN & SHARE: Marion Raw – “Run With The Sea”
Soundcloud / Youtube

WATCH & SHARE: Marion Raw – “If I Could Turn Back Time” [Official Music Video]

WATCH & SHARE: Marion Raw – “Si No Te Hubieras Ido” [Official Music Video]

LISTEN & SHARE: Marion Raw – “If I Could Turn Back Time”

LISTEN & SHARE: Marion Raw – “Si No Te Hubieras Ido”
LISTEN & SHARE: Marion Raw – “Deportee”
Stream“Raw’s songwriting only cuts deeper thanks to the meticulously crafted atmosphere.”
– Under The Radar

“Marion Raw sets the stage for her upcoming debut solo album with moody melodies both covers and originals in her signature scratchy and melodic vocals that play the heartstrings.”
– BTRtoday

“Having already made a name for herself in the Mexican rock scene through her work with Love La Femme, Raw steps out on her own with these songs that perfectly illustrate her sound and sensibilities.”
— Remezcla

Today, Mexico/LA-based artist Marion Raw shares “Run With The Sea,” an acoustic-driven song with a vintage feeling with an accompanying Lynchian video. Opening with the sound of static emulating the radio searching through stations, the song quickly and powerfully kicks in, Under the Radar writing  “Raw doesn’t cut through the static, instead using it as just another part of her dreamlike haze. Accompanied solely by her acoustic guitar, Raw soaks into the unpolished reverie, drifting unmoored through the soundscape.”

On the track, Raw told Under the Radar, “this song is an improvised fictional story about the most savage and animalistic instincts of human archetypes.” 

Her album Deep Cuts is due out next month, April 9th.Raw and bare boned, Deep Cuts, debut solo album from Marion Raw, is comprised of home recordings and capsuled broadcasts. Each track is sewn together to create a ghostly snapshot of a long lost cassette, unearthed far from home, broadcasting into an unknown, perhaps (not so) distant future. 

Last year, Raw shared 3 tracks from Deep Cuts — “Deportee,” “Si No Te Hubieras Ido,” and “If I Could Turn Back Time.” In late 2020, Raw performed a stripped down, “In My Room” live stream set for Rolling Stone Mexico, offering listeners a taste of what’s to come, in an intimate setting, one that foreshadows the sonic narrative and footprint of the home recorded quality of the album. Deep Cuts travels on a ghost highway somewhere between the Mexican – U.S. border, traversing a haunting terrain laden with unpolished collections of covers and original recordings — tattered Americana musical postcards — all completed on an old dusty four-track Tascam, after months of isolation. Deep Cuts is due out in April 2021. The album unearths Raw’s solo career, and will be followed by an already recorded and produced Sophomore release and accompanying visuals. 

Facebook | Website | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | Spotify

Deep Cuts – Tracklisting 
01. Intro Deportee 
02. Deportee
03. If I Could Turn Back Time
04. No No No
05. Birds Crow
06. Broadcast Apague La Luz
07. Los Barandales Del Puente
08. Still As The Night
09. Run With The Sea
10. Black Boys On Mopeds
11. Si No Te Hubieras Ido
12. Night Train
13. Maybe Baby
Marion Raw is a singer songwriter, a third culture kid, raised in airports & hotels.

Making music her home early on Marion emigrated from Mexico when she was 2. Subject to the whims of her ex beauty queen mother, they moved around 22 times by the time Marion was 12, leading to endless daydreaming, cocooned between headphones and suitcases, in search of belonging. 

Raw has a multidisciplinary background as a singer songwriter and visual artist. Drawing on her multi-faceted biography, her work centers around identity, family and of course, love in all the wrong places.

Raw has been the recipient of a scholarship and FONCA award for her project entitled Mummy Dearest (2009), a mixed media piece that explored mental health and gender. Shifting her focus from the visual arts to the musical, she then went on to dive deep into music forming a band in Mexico City called Love la Femme. Marion Raw will debut as a solo artist with her upcoming release, Deep Cuts, out in April 2021. 

You may also like