Kiwi Jr. share new single “Waiting In Line” | New album “Cooler Returns” out Jan 22 via Sub Pop

by Levi

Kiwi Jr. is sharing an official video for “Waiting in Line,” a new offering and highlight from Cooler Returns, their forthcoming album. The video was directed by Laura-Lynn Petrick and captures a day in the life of the band in their homebase of Toronto, Ontario.

“We like the candid and casual approach of director Laura-Lynn’s previous videos, including Weyes Blood, Jessica Pratt, Michael Rault, Twist, and she was excited by our idea to wander around downtown Toronto while it was something of a ghost-town.” says singer Jeremy Gaudet.
Kiwi Jr. Cooler Returns has seen praise from the likes of MOJO, who in its four-star review, raves, “sustaining momentum near-flawlessly across 13 songs…proves Kiwi Jr. have the skills to match their smarts.” Uncut says, “Canadian absurdists’ return is a lyrical delight”, and DIY proclaims, “The band rattle through a seemingly inexhaustible supply of hooks and melodies (4/5).”
As for “Cooler Returns,” the album’s title track, it spent 3 weeks in the U.S at #1 on the commercial alternative specialty chart. BBC Radio 1, BBC 6Music, Radio X and Amazing Radio have all been supporting recent singles.

Watch the video for “Waiting In Line” below.

Cooler Returns will be available on CD/LP/CD/DSPs January 22nd, 2021 worldwide through Sub Pop, with the exception of Canada through the band’s Kiwi Club imprint.
Cooler Returns is now available for preorder through Sub Pop. LP preorders from and select independent retailers in the US will receive the limited Loser edition on translucent gold colored vinyl (while supplies last). Preorders through select independent retailers in the UK and Europe will receive the Loser on white colored vinyl (while supplies last).
There is an additional limited edition version of Cooler Returns from participating Dinked retailers in the UK that will be available on yellow colored vinyl with a signed print and a sequentially numbered obi strip (while supplies last).

What people have said about Kiwi Jr.’s Football Money:

“Each [song] is filled to the rafters with deliriously catchy riffs.  [It’s] one of those rare albums that gets better the more you play it as all those wonderful throw-away lines get lodged in your head until the next one knocks it out…. There is something about Kiwi Jr. that is hard to ignore. They sound like a mixture of all the best bits of R.E.M., The Kinks, The Strokes, The Modern Lovers, Pavement and Lou Reed…” [8/10] – CLASH
“While stuffing itself with enough insight to force its listeners to acknowledge issues, there’s enough charm and wit to remind us the importance of having a little fun along the way.” – DIY

 “Delightfully sharp indie-pop.” – The i Paper

[About Cooler Returns] “As we prepare for perhaps the most theatrical and gladiatorial political debate in history, ‘Undecided Voters’ is simultaneously extremely funny and painfully prescient.” – The Line of Best Fit

 “An instantly accessible set of addictive tunes.” – Louder Than War

“With a vim and focus that recalls early Strokes… tautly tuneful jangle channels the Modern Lovers, the Cars and Pavement with hooks that dig in deep and stay there.” ★★★★- MOJO

“Stacks of melodic joy” – Music OMH

[About Cooler Returns] “On paper, the lyrics of Kiwi Jr.’s ‘Cooler Returns’ reads like a mildly anxious stream-of-consciousness that careens from an uncomfortable Super Bowl Sunday to being “strung out on the back of your ATV / throwing dead birds into the air”. But the song’s also a jangly, indie rock earworm that’ll lodge itself in that part of your brain that loves Pavement.” – NME

“There’s no sense in resisting the playful jangle of Kiwi Jr.” –NPR Music

“With easy hooks, surprise structural twists, and a gift for non-sequiturs, the Canadian quartet’s debut is a vivid portrait of the big-city struggle…Gaudet has such a witty way with one-liners, and the band is so effervescent in their execution, that it’s easy to overlook the elevated level of craft at work.” – Pitchfork
“With impressionistic lyrics, breathless Jonathan Richman meets Richard Hell vocals, and more than a passing nod to early REM, Kiwi Jr re-imagine punk and folk-rock as part of the same glorious lineage.” ★★★★ – Shindig!
[About Cooler Returns] “If their debut Football Money, which so gratifyingly warmed the sceptics within us with their comfortably layered hooks and dry sardonic perception of the metropolitan dream, was their run for local town mayor  – ‘Undecided Voters’ is their big money shot at the senatorship.” – So Young

“Packs a melodic punch — one that, echoing its most infectious track, will you leave you chanting ‘gimme more gimme more more more’.” – UNCUT
 “Truly infectious” – The Wire

Kiwi Jr.: Cooler Returns album artwork | Download image here

Kiwi Jr. – Cooler Returns – Tracklisting

1. Tyler
2. Undecided Voters
3. Maid Marian’s Toast
4. Highlights of 100
5. Only Here for a Haircut
6. Cooler Returns
7. Guilty Party
8. Omaha
9. Domino
10. Nashville Wedding
11. Dodger
12. Norma Jean’s Jacket
13. Waiting in Line

Kiwi Jr.: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

You may also like